800 products, 100 customers, two refineries – and one system

In 2012, AXAVIA was introduced at H&R as a technical documentation system. For the first time, practically immeasurable volumes of technical data from various databases, tables and SAP applications could be united in a common data system. A considerable relief for the management, employees and contractual partners.
The listed company H&R AG is a speciality chemicals company globally active in the fields of development and manufacture of chemical-pharmaceutical speciality products based on crude oil, and in the production of precision plastic parts. The company was founded in 1919.
Working from a product derived from crude oil distillation at its two domestic refineries in Hamburg and Salzbergen, H&R employs intelligent processes to obtain more than 800 innovative, environmentally friendly and high quality products such as plasticisers, white oils and paraffins. H&R holds a leading market position in each of its product areas.

Much greater flexibility and much less effort

The pros of AXAVIA still impress the company and its employees every day. The biggest advantage: The system is capable of adapting to the reality of the business. This is in stark contrast to other systems which, being built on predefined structures, would require the adaptation of the company itself. The financial argument is no less important: An AXAVIA corporate licence was reserved for the entire company and its branches, meaning everyone can make use of the entire, comprehensive portfolio at any time at no additional cost. An opportunity that H&R uses extensively.

The informational centre of the company

The abundance of AXAVIA applications at H&R is impressive. With the central provision of documents, data and many other functionalities, ever more departments are supported in the day-to-day informational processes.

Bildmaterial © copyright H&R AG

A system that serves equally as an informational centre and as an organisational framework:

  • Technical documentation system
  • Document management (practically all drawings and documents are linked/assigned to the plants and technical areas)
  • Fault message recording for maintenance. (so far 15,400 messages set)
  • Work planning (so far more than 16,000 work orders)
  • Magazine article specification and inventory data display (with specification for 32,000 articles)
  • Parts list management for the technical areas (8100 parts lists with 70,000 items)
  • Materials and requisitioning (32,000 request items)
  • Project tracking for maintenance work orders (990 projects totalling 3300 work orders tracked)
  • Basic data and report preparation for the introduction and operation of an energy management system according to ISO 50001 with successful certification from technical inspection agency TÜV

The employees collaborate

AXAVIA was originally established purely as a technical documentation system. For the first time, all technical data and tables could be placed on a common basis and assigned to the plants and products. To complement this, H&R configured its own interface to Oracle. Employees also enjoy the convenience of being able to configure many property fields in forms themselves when integrating the technical data. This way, employees familiar with certain processes and form layouts were not immediately forced to adjust to entirely new layouts. Ever new options have furthermore since been integrated with ease. These advantages have noticeably improved acceptance among employees. For example, more than 300 employees use AXAVIA, with 200 working regularly with the system – a result that everyone in the company can be proud of.

AXAVIA in the design process

AXAVIA at H&R not only serves to organize their virtually countless documents, but also serves as a basis for the design process. At this company, new plants are often designed on the basis of using existing parts. This means engineers already have reliable information at hand which, in the ideal case, need only be newly configured.

Contractual partner on board

AXAVIA centrally serves not only the two locations Hamburg and Salzbergen, but also the large number of contractors who use this comfortable, secure data basis for everything down to work and payroll accounting. The common basis of this close cooperation is the extensive and complete core data, which are identical in all systems.

800 Produkte, 100 Kunden, zwei Raffinerien – und ein System

Im Jahr 2012 wurde AXAVIA als technisches Dokumentationssystem bei H&R eingeführt. So konnten erstmalig nahezu unzählige technische Daten aus diversen Datenbanken, Tabellen und SAP-Anwendungen in einem gemeinsamen Datensystem vereint werden. Eine erhebliche Erleichterung für die Geschäftsleitung, die Mitarbeiter und Vertragspartner.
Die börsennotierte H&R AG ist als Unternehmen der Spezialchemie in der Entwicklung und Herstellung chemisch-pharmazeutischer Spezialprodukte auf Rohölbasis und in der Produktion von Präzisions-Kunststoffteilen international tätig. Gegründet wurde das Unternehmen im Jahr 1919.
Aus einem Folgeprodukt der Rohöldestillation gewinnt H&R in den beiden inländischen Raffinerien in Hamburg und Salzbergen durch intelligente Verfahren mehr als 800 innovative, umweltfreundliche und qualitativ hochwertige Produkte wie Weichmacher, Weißöle und Paraffine. In den einzelnen Produktbereichen nimmt die H&R führende Marktpositionen ein.

Deutlich mehr Flexibilität und so weniger Aufwand

Die Argumente für AXAVIA überzeugen das Unternehmen und die Mitarbeiter noch heute jeden Tag. Der größte Vorteil: Das System hat die Fähigkeit sich der Unternehmenswirklichkeit anzupassen. Und dies im deutlichen Unterschied zu anderen, die mit vorgegebenen Strukturen eine Anpassung des Unternehmens selbst verlangen. Nicht minder wichtig ist das finanzielle Argument: Für das gesamte Unternehmen und seine Standorte wurde eine AXAVIA Unternehmenslizenz gebucht, so dass es sich jederzeit aus dem umfassenden Portfolio ohne zusätzliche Kosten bedienen kann. Eine Möglichkeit die von H&R intensiv genutzt wird.

Das informelle Zentrum des Unternehmens

Die Fülle der AXAVIA-Anwendungen bei H&R ist beeindruckend. Mit der zentralen Bereitstellung von Dokumenten, Daten und vielen weiteren Funktionalitäten werden immer mehr Abteilungen im informellen Tagesgeschäft unterstützt.

Bildmaterial © copyright H&R AG

Ein System; das gleichermaßen als informeller Mittelpunkt und organisatorisches Gerüst dient:

  • Ein technisches Dokumentationssystem
  • Das Dokumentenmanagement (nahezu alle Zeichnungen und Dokumente sind mit den Anlagen und technischen Plätzen verlinkt/zugeordnet)
  • Eine Störmeldeerfassung für die Instandhaltung. (bislang wurden 15.400 Meldungen eingestellt)
  • Die Arbeitsvorbereitung (bis heute über 16.000 Arbeitsaufträge)
  • Die Magazin-Artikel Spezifikation und Bestandsdatenanzeige (mit Spezifikation für 32.000 Artikel)
  • Die Stücklistenverwaltung für die technischen Plätze (8100 Stücklisten mit 70.000 Positionen)
  • Die Material und Bedarfsanforderung (32.000 Anforderungspositionen)
  • Die Projekterfassung für Arbeitsaufträge der Instandhaltung (990 Projekte mit zusammen 3300 Arbeitsaufträgen wurden erfasst)
  • Basisdaten- und Berichtserstellung zur Einführung und dem Betrieb eines Energie-Managementsystems nach ISO 50001 mit erfolgreicher Zertifizierung durch den TÜV

Die Mitarbeiter arbeiten mit

AXAVIA wurde ursprünglich als rein technisches Dokumentationssystem etabliert. In diesem System konnten nun erstmalig alle technischen Daten und Tabellen auf eine gemeinsame Basis gestellt und den Anlagen und Produkten zugeordnet werden. Ergänzend dazu konnte H&R in eigener Regie eine Schnittstelle zu Oracle konfigurieren. Zudem genießt man den Vorteil, bei der Integration der technischen Daten viele Eigenschaftsfelder in Formularen selber konfigurieren zu können. So müssen sich Mitarbeiter, die mit bestimmten Abläufen und Formblätter vertraut waren, nicht erst an völlig neue Darstellungsstrukturen gewöhnen. Weiterhin konnten auch immer neue Optionen problemlos integriert werden. Diese Vorteile haben die Akzeptanz bei den Mitarbeitern spürbar verbessert. So benutzen über 300 Mitarbeiter AXAVIA, 200 arbeiten regelmäßig mit dem System – ein Ergebnis auf das man im Unternehmen durchaus stolz ist.

AXAVIA im Konstruktionsprozess

AXAVIA dient bei H&R nicht nur zur Organisation der nahezu unzähligen Dokumente, sondern auch als Basis des Konstruktionsprozesses. In diesen Unternehmen basiert die Konstruktion von neuen Anlagen oft auf der Verwendung schon vorhandener Teile. So stehen den Ingenieuren schon vorab verlässliche Informationen zur Verfügung, die im Idealfall nur neu konfiguriert werden müssen.

Vertragspartner mit im Boot

Mit AXAVIA werden aber nicht nur die beiden Standorte Hamburg und Salzbergen zentral betreut, sondern auch die hohe Anzahl von Vertragspartnern (Kontraktoren), die diese komfortable und abwicklungssichere Datenbasis bis hin zu Arbeits- und Lohnabrechnungen nutzen. Basis dieser engen Zusammenarbeit sind immer die umfangreichen und vollständigen Kerndaten, die in allen Systemen identisch sind.